A Simple Princess Leia Birthday Cake for a Serious Star Wars Fan

A Princess Leia Star Wars CakeWhat to do, what to do? Your 5-year old daughter is absolutely obsessed with Star Wars, but you’re (more than) a little burned out ’cause the Star Wars marketing has officially jumped the shark and gotten out of control lately (yeah, I’m lookin’ at you, R2D2 Coffee Creamer). And, with my kiddo’s birthday being just two days after Halloween, we’re pretty sugared out. But when we had a small family gathering to celebrate November birthdays, I decided it just wasn’t a party without cake. So I started scheming …

lightsaber cupcake picksMy daughter is pretty into the lightsabers (she made her own at Disneyland using some of her birthday money this year), so my first idea was to take the focus of the cake completely off the characters and just use elements of Star Wars somehow. When I found this Set of 12 Star Wars Mini Plastic Light Saber Cupcake Topper/Cake Picks, I knew I had to grab them – they were absolutely perfect.

(photo via iFavor123 on Etsy)

Pop! Princess Leia Bobblehead
Because my daughter has asked me for this Pop! Princess Leia bobble head every single time we’ve seen it, I decided to surprise her and use it as the cake topper. It’s a major cheat – the figurine is so cute that it would look adorable on top of anything, but it was just the right thing to keep the cake looking simple and clean. It also made it perfect for my little 5-year-old girlie-girl. You can pick these up anywhere – I happened to grab mine at my local Hallmark store.

So there you have it. I made a small “smash cake” sized cake this year, using two 6-inch round pans. I totally cheated this year and used a box of Duncan Hines Devil’s Food cake mix (I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – if you’re gonna use a box mix, make sure it’s Duncan Hines) and Duncan Hines Creamy Homestyle Vanilla frosting.

suppliesMy favorite Marshmallow Buttercream frosting that I like to make goes on a lot easier and it tastes sooo much better. If you have time, I highly recommend whipping up a batch. You can grab the recipe from when I used it on this cake and this cake. I sprinkled a little iridescent white cake sparkles on top and added some silver pearl sprinkles (by Wilton) to tie in with the lightsaber handles.

Princess Leia Birthday Cake by Four-Eyed Girlie

My little Leia was pretty surprised once this cake came out.  So, I’m officially dedicating this cake to all the girlie-girls out there who like to engage in some badass lightsaber battles and a little cosplay, but still like to keep things looking cute. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Simple Princess Leia Birthday Cake for a Serious Star Wars Fan

  1. Pingback: Simple Star Wars Cakes: Part II. Kylo Ren + Rey | Four-Eyed Girlie

Leave a Reply

