Christmas Goodies: Old Fashioned Fudge

Everybody who knows me knows that I enjoy a retro slant to almost anything. Hair styles, clothing, music, imagery … yeah, everything. So this year, I stayed true to form and decided to make some old-fashioned fudge to give away during the holidays, because you know there’s nothing more “retro” than that.

Milk Chocolate Fudge w/Candy Holly Sprinkles

White Chocolate Peppermint Fudge

Fantasy Fudge with Chopped Walnuts

There’s a reason fudge has always been such a traditional favorite to give as gifts for the holidays. First off, it’s so easy to make! Seriously, it doesn’t take a lot of time, and the biggest thing you’ve got to worry about is not burning your chocolate. It’s also not very expensive ā€” most recipes yield quite a bit, and because a little piece of fudge goes a long way, you’ve got lots to give out.

It took hardly any time to make the three varieties I selected. Once you get it all together and pour, you’re pretty much finished. And with so many ways to cut and embellish the fudge, it can look festive without being too labor-intensive, too!

The 1st fudge I chose to make was Martha Stewart’s Foolproof Holiday Fudge. You don’t even need a candy thermometer (see, I told you it’s easy!). I personally think Milk Chocolate tastes better than semi-sweet, and because I wasn’t going to add nuts or anything to this batch, I especially wanted to use real milk chocolate. I used the same recipe to make the White Chocolate Peppermint Fudge as well, and simply substituted peppermint mini-marshmallows for the regular ones (and of course, I used white chocolate).

The third batch of fudge I made was the tried-and-true Fantasy Fudge recipe, also the same as Mamie Eisenhower’s Million Dollar Fudge (AKA White House Fudge), which is completely old-school and retro as it gets!

Sorry Martha ā€” as much as I love you, Mamie wins with this one. This fudge was perfection. Martha’s is tasty, but a little different in texture. I loved it, but Mamie’s is exactly what you expect fudge to taste like. It’s dense, rich, chocolate-y and absolutely requires walnuts. I decided to lightly sprinkle the fudge with Christmas-colored nonpareils, to keep things looking cute. Thanks to Martha, I got the idea to cut my fudge into circular pieces with a fondant cutter ā€” they fit better in the cute mini-treat cups when they’re cut that way, and there’s just something about the round pieces that make them look a little fancier.

Bring the retro back and surprise your friends and neighbors with a sweet little box of holiday fudge. They’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

