Sweet Treats: Making it work when results aren’t what you planned for!

One of my favorite toddlers recently turned two, and I was asked if I would help with the birthday girl’s party sweets. I was feeling really ambitious and thought I’d try something like these adorable ice cream cone cupcakes at Bergdorf Goodman, but I was a little too ambitious! We got the cupcakes to bake quite well in the cones, but no matter how hard we tried, we couldn’t get them to be even sizes, and some were straight-up crooked and just wouldn’t stand up!

Sample only – use link to download

So, I channeled my inner Tim Gunn and decided we’d make it work. Afterall, cupcakes in the ice cream cones are so easy for a toddler to hold themselves, and with independence at a real high at this stage – whatever makes it easier for them to do things by themselves is a win. I decided to turn the cupcakes upside down and place them in color-coordinating baking cups to match the party theme, use a little ribbon to jazz up the “handles,” and I made little tags and stick them into the top. Voila! We pulled it off, and the guests had no idea the new upside-down treats were a happy accident!

Would you like to download the tags to print yourself? Download here. Just cut out and tape to a toothpick – they’re super easy!

Leave a Reply

