Sweet Treats: Crispy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups + My 1st Cheesecake

One of my favorite mommy friends is expecting baby #2, and I decided that this baby deserved a party, no matter how prepared his/her parents were! I say “his/her” because this baby has a very patient momma who has the ability to actually wait to find out the sex of the baby until it’s born — can you believe that?!? So, baby’s name is “Smüdgie” for now (yes, the umlaut is very necessary) until his/her birth day.

No party is a party without favors, so I got to work deciding on what sweet treats I’d be making for the guests. I came across this genius recipe for Crispy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups. The tiny little no-bake candies worked perfectly for my concept of “a smidge of something sweet for Smüdgie”. (Big thanks to Iowa Girl Eats for the idea and tutorial)

For packaging, I used different shades of scrapbook paper to fit the width of a treat bag, made little flags for the cups with toothpicks, and attached one of my custom made tags. Everyone got two sweet little cups in their bag to take home!

You also can’t have a party without cake, and at the mom-to-be’s request, she wanted a cheesecake with a fresh berry topping. I’d never made a cheesecake before, so I decided this would be the perfect opportunity to try! Guess what? It’s totally easy. The fanciest part about it is using a springform pan.


After researching 1,000,000 recipes, from Martha’s to Ina Garten’s, I decided to use an old classic — this one. Scoff if you must, but it was the real deal.

I used a 10.5″ pan, rather than a 9″ one, so I increased the graham cracker crust recipe by an additional cup of crumbs, 1/4 c. butter, and 1 tsp. sugar to ensure optimal buttery graham cracker crust goodness. I also put the crust in the oven for about 10 mins. first, then let it cool before I added the filling and baked it. The next morning, I trimmed the edge with blueberries, sliced strawberries and layered them, and saved room in the middle for more blueberries. I was proud of how it turned out!

Now, I just have to wait for Smüdgie to get here!

Leave a Reply

